National Capital Region (Manila)

Back to Neighborhoods

The National Capital Region (NCR) or Metro Manila is the country's smallest yet leading region located in the central part of Luzon. It has a total land area of 638.6 km2 with a population of 11.9 million, which makes it the most populous region in the country. It is the center of political power and the seat of the Philippines' national government.

One of the top tourist destinations in Metro Manila is Intramuros, a walled city located in the heart of Old Manila.  It is home to the 16th-century baroque San Augustin Church as well as Fort Santiago, a historical fortress and military prison.

The cities and municipalities within Metro Manila are grouped into four districts: the first district is the City of Manila, the capital city of the country; the second district contains Mandaluyong City, Marikina City, Pasig City, Quezon City, and the City of San Juan; the third district is made up of Caloocan City, Malabon City, Navotas City, and Valenzuela City, and lastly, the fourth district is comprised of Las Pinas City, Makati City, Muntinlupa City, Paranaque City, Pateros Municipality, and Taguig City.

The province of Manila was one of the eight original provinces that opposed the Spanish colonial rule in the late 1800s.